A quick note to myself about History

This is just a quick note to myself to follow up. Last night I wrote (no, enthused) that we create History. This morning I woke up thinking this is wrong. We don’t create History. History creates us.

I need to revisit Emerson on this. He wrote a lot about this very thing. Whatever he said on this, I suspect it was wrong, but I know he that he said it interestingly and said it well.

Anytime I find myself capitalizing a noun (like History or Man or Nature) I should immediately remind myself to read Emerson before posting. It would save me a lot of trouble.

Leave a Reply

