Writing at 6AM

I woke up early this morning to start writing. It is still dark outside. The birds are just now starting to sing. I have no idea what I’m doing or why I am doing it. I had the thought that writing might be easier first thing in the morning, and that I might sneak my way back into the story by jumping into it fresh from last night’s dreams. A bit like ledge jumping from one roof to another. I didn’t make the leap.

194 words. None of them particularly interesting or useful.

I am not complaining. I only want to document that this moment happened. I woke up at 6am. I got dressed. I started writing. I was here. I understand that this is how this works.

3 thoughts on “Writing at 6AM

    1. Thanks. I have been thinking about your comment off and on all day. You are right about this. I can’t put too much weight on things. For now, it is enough to be up and writing. I can’t expect the Muse to read the memo and suddenly get with the program.

      I know I write best when I can run the day before. That’s when I wake up with ideas and focus and energy, ready to work. Midmorning is my best writing time, but I’m trying to create this early morning space out of necessity. Time will tell.

      Like

      1. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll get there. If you get stuck why not use your morning peace-time to read? Reading is the only way I can shift writer’s block: remembering what good words look like and getting swept up in someone else’s story…

        Like

Leave a Reply

